• Weathermore
  • Live TrafficUS-59I-10610I-45Sam Houston Tollwaymore

2012 Stellar Award Winners! [PHOTOS]

Comments: 0  | Leave A Comment


The 2012 Stellar Awards went down this past weekend in Nashville and here’s the rundown via MyPraiseATL.com:

Marvin Sapp and Dorinda Clark Cole hosted the show, which celebrates gospel music’s best. True to the description, the program was full of soaring performances from Kirk Franklin, Earnest Pugh, Fred Hammond, Ricky Dillard & New G, Richard Smallwood & Vision and other groups as well as choir performances that had people dancing and crying.

The 2012 Stellar Awards were held at the Grand Ole Opry House and will air on television in syndication Saturday through Feb. 26 on the GMC cable network.

Take a look at the list of winners at the Stellar Awards.

  • Artist of the Year: Vashawn Mitchell- Triumphant
  • Song of the Year: Kirk Frankllin,  Smile – Hello Fear
  • Male Vocalist of Year: Vashawn Mitchell – Triumphant
  • Albertina Walker Female Vocalist of the Year: Kim Burrell – The Love Album
  • Group/Duo of the Year: Mary Mary – Something Big
  • New Artist of the Year: Y’Anna Crawley, The Promise
  • CD of the year: Kirk Franklin – Hello Fear
  • Choir of the Year: Ricky Dillard & New G – Keep Living
  • Producers of the Year: Kirk Franklin – Hello Fear
  • Comtemporary Group/Duo of the Year: Mary Mary – Something Big
  • Traditional Group/Duo of the Year: The Rance Allen Group – The Live Experience
  • Contemportary Male of the Year: Vashawn Mitchell – Triumphant
  • Traditional Male Vocalist of the Year: Smokie Norful – How I got Over Songs that Carried Us
  • Contemporary Female Vocalists of the Year: Kim Burrell – The Love Album
  • Traditional Female Vocalist of the Year: Beverly Crawford – Live from Los Angeles
  • Contemporary CD of the Year: Kirk Frankly – Hello Fear
  • Traditional CD of the Year: Smokie Norful – How I got Over Songs that Carried Us
  • Urban/Inspirational single or performance of the Year: Vashawn Mitchell – Noboby Greater
  • Music Video of the Year, Short Format: Vashawn Mitchell – Noboby Greater
  • Music Video of the Year, Long Format: Deitrick Haddon – Church on the Moon: Part one
  • Traditional Choir of the Year: Mississippi Mass Choir
  • Contemporary Choir of the Year: Shekinah Glory Ministy
  • Thomas A Dorsey Most Notable Achievement Award Honoree: Vy Higginsen
  • Ambassador Dr. Bobby Jones Legend Awards Honoree: Dorothy Norwood
  • James Cleveland Lifetime Achievement Award Honoree: John P. Kee

The Stellar Awards annually honor three of gospel music’s most celebrated veterans with specialty awards. This year a tearful John P. Kee was presented with the James Cleveland Lifetime Achievement Award.

Vy Higginsen accepted the Thomas Dorsey Most Notable Achievement Award. Dorothy Norwood, often called the world’s greatest gospel storyteller, was given the Dr. Bobby Jones Legends Award.

Photos courtesy of our affiliate, PraiseRichmond:

Join the Conversation! Share and Discuss!



Leave a Comment


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,027 other followers